State Contacts and Deadlines

Selection Process  :    State Contacts and Deadlines

Please note: Each state’s deadline date is shown below in blue. The deadline in each state may be reconfirmed by contacting the high school principal or the state selection contact.

Alabama

DEADLINE:
September 30, 2019

Dr. Carolyn A. Jones
Education Specialist
Alabama Department of Education
50 N. Ripley Street
Montgomery, 36104
(334) 694-4768
cajones@alsde.edu 
www.alsde.edu
back to the top >>

Alaska

DEADLINE:
November 01, 2019

Dr. Bjorn Wolter
Program Specialist
Alaska Department of Education & Early Development
PO Box 110500
Juneau, 99811-0500
(907) 465-8696
bjorn.wolter@alaska.gov
www.education.alaska.gov/RecognitionPrograms/
back to the top >>

Arizona

DEADLINE:
October 01, 2019

Ms. Linnea Bennett and Ms. Emily O’Neil
USSYP State Selection Contacts
Arizona Department of Education
1535 W. Jefferson Street, Bin #2
Phoenix, 85007
(602) 542-5344
scholarships@azed.gov
https://www.azed.gov/studentachievement/senateyouth/
back to the top >>

Arkansas

DEADLINE:
October 04, 2019

Ms. Melissa Starkey, ED.S
Social Studies Specialist
Arkansas Department of Education
Division of Elementary and Secondary Education
Curriculum Support Services
Four Capitol Mall, Room 202-B
Little Rock, 72201
(501) 682-6584
Melissa.Starkey@arkansas.gov
http://dese.ade.arkansas.gov/divisions/learning-services/curriculum-support/humanities/social-studies/social-studies-programs-and-opportunities/united-states-senate-youth-program
back to the top >>

California

DEADLINE:
October 04, 2019

Ms. Dina Fong
Communications Manager/USSYP Coordinator
California Department of Education
1430 N Street, Suite 5602
Sacramento, 95814
(916) 319-0551
DFong@cde.ca.gov
www.cde.ca.gov/eo/in/us/
back to the top >>

Colorado

DEADLINE:
October 04, 2019

Ms. Kim Burnham
Competitive Grants and Awards Supervisor
Colorado Department of Education
1560 Broadway, Suite 1100
Denver, 80202
(303) 866-6916
Burnham_k@cde.state.co.us
www.cde.state.co.us/cdeawards/senateyouth.htm 
back to the top >>

Connecticut

DEADLINE:
October 11, 2019

Mr. Stephen Armstrong
Social Studies Consultant
Connecticut State Department of Education
450 Columbus Blvd.
Hartford, 06103
(860) 713-6706
stephen.armstrong@ct.gov
http://portal.ct.gov/SDE/Social-Studies/Social-Studies-Frameworks-and-Resources
back to the top >>

Delaware

DEADLINE:
October 09, 2019

Mr. Preston Shockley
Social Studies Education Associate
Delaware Department of Education
401 Federal Street, Suite 2
Dover, 19901
(302) 735-4180
preston.shockley@doe.k12.de.us
www.doe.k12.de.us/Page/3052
back to the top >>

Department of Defense Education Activity

DEADLINE:
October 04, 2019

Ms. Elizabeth A. Costanzo
Instructional Systems Specialist K-12 Social Studies
Department of Defense Education Activity
4800 Mark Center Drive, 6th Floor
Alexandria, 22350
(571) 372-1883
Elizabeth.Costanzo@hq.dodea.edu
https://www.dodea.edu/Curriculum/socialStudies/ussyp.cfm
back to the top >>

District of Columbia

DEADLINE:
October 30, 2019

Ms. Janae M. Eason
Program Manager
Postsecondary & Career Education | College and Career Readiness
Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE)
1050 First St NE, Fifth Floor
Washington, 20002
(202) 481-3481
janae.eason@dc.gov
www.osse.dc.gov/service/united-states-senate-youth-program-ussyp
back to the top >>

Florida

DEADLINE:
October 25, 2019

Ms. Annette B. Pitts
Director
Florida Southern College
111 Lake Hollingsworth Drive
Lakeland, FL 33801
(850) 322-8223
apitts@flsouthern.edu
https://www.flsouthern.edu/centers-institutes/justice-teaching-center/home.aspx
back to the top >>

Georgia

DEADLINE:
October 04, 2019

Ms. Keisha N. Ford-Jenrette
Program Manager
Georgia Department of Education
2070 Twin Towers East
Atlanta, 30334
(404) 657-2949
kford@gadoe.org
www.gadoe.org/External-Affairs-and-Policy/Excellence-Recognition/
Pages/U.S.-Senate-Youth-Program.aspx

back to the top >>

Hawaii

DEADLINE:
October 15, 2019

Ms. Tiffany Frias
Educational Specialist
Hawaii Department of Education
475 22nd Avenue, Room 214
Honolulu, 96816
(808) 305-9774
TFrias@hawaiidoe.k12.hi.us
https://.hssc808.weebly.com/?s=USSYP
back to the top >>

Idaho

DEADLINE:
October 19, 2019

Mr. Peter G. Kavouras
Social Studies Coordinator
Idaho Department of Education
650 West State Street
Boise, 83720-0027
(208) 332-6974
pgkavouras@sde.idaho.gov
www.sde.idaho.gov
back to the top >>

Illinois

DEADLINE:
October 01, 2019

Ms. Liz Hiler
Principal Consultant, Social Science
Illinois State Board of Education
100 North First Street, N-253
Springfield, 62777
(217) 785-4294
ussyp@isbe.net
https://www.isbe.net/Pages/United-States-Senate-Youth-Program-Hearst-Scholarship.aspx
back to the top >>

Indiana

DEADLINE:
October 07,2019

Tim Kalgreen, M.Ed.
Indiana Bar Foundation
Director of Civic Education
615 N. Alabama, Suite 426
Indianapolis, 46204
(317) 608-6503
tkalgreen@inbf.org
www.inbf.org/educational-programs/united-states-senate-youth-program
back to the top >>

Iowa

DEADLINE:
October 01, 2019

Ms. Stefanie Wager
Social Studies Consultant
Iowa Department of Education
Grimes State Office Building
400 SE 14th Street
Des Moines, 50319
(515) 725-7842
stefanie.wager@iowa.gov
https://www.educateiowa.gov/pk-12/advanced-learning-opportunities/us-senate-youth-program
back to the top >>

Kansas

DEADLINE:
October 10, 2019

Mrs. Tammy Miller
Administrative Specialist
Kansas State Department of Education
Landon State Office Building
900 SW Jackson St., Suite 102
Topeka, 66612-1212
(785) 296-4950
tmiller@ksde.org
www.ksde.org/Agency/FiscalandAdministrativeServices/
CommunicationsandRecognitionPrograms/SenateYouth.aspx

back to the top >>

Kentucky

DEADLINE:
October 15, 2019

Ms. Donna Melton
Program Consultant
Kentucky Department of Education
300 Sower Blvd.
Frankfort, 40601
(502) 564-2000 Ext. 4616
donna.melton@education.ky.gov
https://education.ky.gov
back to the top >>

Louisiana

DEADLINE:
September 30, 2019

Ms. Marian E. Johnson
Education Program Consultant
Louisiana Department of Education
1201 North Third Street
Baton Rouge, 70802
(225) 219-7372
Marian.johnson@la.gov
http://www.louisianabelieves.com/academics/award-programs
back to the top >>

Maine

DEADLINE:
October 01, 2019

Mr. Joe Schmidt
Social Studies Content Specialist
Western Maine Regional Representative
Maine Department of Education
23 State House Station
Augusta, 04333-0023
(207) 624-6828
Joe.Schmidt@maine.gov
https://www.maine.gov/doe/learning/content/social/USSYP
back to the top >>

Maryland

DEADLINE:
October 11, 2019

Dr. Christy Thompson
Executive Director
Maryland State Department of Education
200 W. Baltimore Street, 4th Floor, DOSFSS
Baltimore, 21201
(410) 767-0292
Christy.Thompson@maryland.gov
http://marylandpublicschools.org/about/pages/dsfss/youth-development/ussyp-scholarship.aspx
back to the top >>

Massachusetts

DEADLINE:
October 04, 2019

Ms. Donna Taylor
SSAC / USSYP Coordinator
Massachusetts Department of Education
75 Pleasant St.
Malden, 02148
(781) 338-6320
dtaylor@doe.mass.edu
http://www.doe.mass.edu/scholarships/senate/default.html
back to the top >>

Michigan

DEADLINE:
October 04, 2019

Dr. Anne-Lise Halvorsen
Associate Professor
Ph.D. Coordinator
Department of Teacher Education
4333 Commonwealth Street
Detroit, MI 48208
(313) 244-4883
Annelise@msu.edu
https://www.teachinghistoryinmi.org/us-senate-youth-program
back to the top >>

Minnesota

DEADLINE:
October 11, 2019

Ms. Gloriann McDonald
Communications Specialist
Minnesota Department of Education
1500 Highway 36 West
Roseville, 55113
(651) 582-8734
MDE.communications@state.mn.us
https://education.mn.gov/MDE/fam/youth/
back to the top >>

Mississippi

DEADLINE:
October 11, 2019

Ms. Sandra Hilliard
Education Specialist, Sr.
Office of Teaching and Learning, Division of Educator Effectiveness
Mississippi Department of Education
PO. Box 771
Jackson, 39205
(601) 359-3631
SHilliard@mdek12.org
https://mdek12.org/OTL/OTC/USSYP
back to the top >>

Missouri

DEADLINE:
September 12, 2019

Ms. Dixie J. Grupe
Social Studies Director, Office of College and Career Readiness
MO Department of Elementary & Secondary Education
205 Jefferson Street
Jefferson City, 65102-0480
(573) 751-0398
Dixie.Grupe@dese.mo.gov
http://dese.mo.gov/college-career-readiness/curriculum/social-studies/
back to the top >>

Montana

DEADLINE:
October 01, 2019

Ms. Kristen Bokovoy
USSYP Coordinator
Montana Office of Public Instruction
PO Box 202501
Helena, 59620-2501
(406) 444-2417
Kristen.bokovoy2@mt.gov
http://opi.mt.gov/Families-Students/Student-Resources/Student-Scholarships-Student-Exchange
back to the top >>

Nebraska

DEADLINE:
September 27, 2019

Mr. Harris Payne
Social Studies Specialist
Nebraska Department of Education
301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, 68509-4987
(402) 471-2449
harris.payne@nebraska.gov
https://www.education.ne.gov/socialstudies/united-states-senate-youth-program-hearst-foundations-scholarship/
back to the top >>

Nevada

DEADLINE:
October 11, 2019

Ms. Jaynie Malorni
Educational Programs Professional | Social Studies & Financial Literacy | World Language | Distance Education Courses
Nevada Department of Education, Office of Standards and Instructional Support
Southern Office
2080 E. Flamingo Rd, Suite 210
Las Vegas NV 89119
(702) 486-8398
jmalorni@doe.nv.gov
http://www.doe.nv.gov/Scholarships/U_S__Senate_Youth_Program/
back to the top >>

New Hampshire

DEADLINE:
October 15, 2019

Ms. Lori Kincaid
Program Specialist
New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street
Concord, 03301
(603) 271-6646
Lori.kincaid@doe.nh.gov
http://www.education.nh.gov/recognition/us_senate.htm
back to the top >>

New Jersey

DEADLINE:
October 11, 2019

Ms. Beverly R. Plein
Office of Standards, Director
New Jersey Department of Education
PO Box 500
Trenton, 08625-0500
(609) 376-3884
beverly.plein@doe.nj.gov
www.state.nj.us/education/aps/cccs/ss/syp/
back to the top >>

New Mexico

DEADLINE:
October 18, 2019

Ms. Julie Arnold
NMASSP Awards Coordinator
Rio Rancho Cyber Academy
1330 Jackie Rd.
Rio Rancho, NM 87501
(505) 892-7222, ext. 101
julie.arnold@rrps.net
http://nmassp.org/?page_id=74
back to the top >>

New York

DEADLINE:
October 18, 2019

Ms. Gwyn Marschman
Associate in Educational Planning and Evaluation
New York State Education Department
89 Washington Avenue, Room 860 EBA
Albany, 12234
(518) 486-6090
Gwyn.Marschman@nysed.gov
http://www.nysed.gov/curriculum-instruction/awards-and-scholarships
back to the top >>

North Carolina

DEADLINE:
October 06, 2019

Ms. Michelle McLaughlin
K-12 Social Studies Curriculum Consultant
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
6341 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, 27699
(919) 807-3847
michelle.mclaughlin@dpi.nc.gov
http://senateyouthnc.webs.com/
back to the top >>

North Dakota

DEADLINE:
October 15, 2019

Ms. Melissa J. Artlip
Public Information Officer
North Dakota Department of Public Instruction
600 E. Boulevard Avenue, Dept. 201
Bismarck, 58505-0440
(701) 328-3216
Martlip@nd.gov 
https://www.nd.gov/dpi/SchoolStaff/OutreachandEngagement/UnitedStatesSenateYouthProgram//
back to the top >>

Ohio

DEADLINE:
August 01, 2019

Mr. Dwight C. Groce
Social Studies Consultant
Ohio Department of Education
25 S. Front Street – Mail Stop 509
Columbus, 43215
(614) 387-3200
Dwight.Groce@education.ohio.gov
http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Other-Resources/Scholarships/US-Senate-Youth-Program
back to the top >>

Oklahoma

DEADLINE:
September 20, 2019

Dr. Brenda M. Beymer-Chapman
Director of Social Studies and Personal Financial Literacy
Oklahoma Department of Education
2500 North Lincoln Blvd.
Oklahoma City, 73105
(405) 522-3523
Brenda.Chapman@sde.ok.gov
http://sde.ok.gov/sde/social-studies#USSYP
back to the top >>

Oregon

DEADLINE:
October 11, 2019

Ms. Jenni Knaus
Communications Specialist
Oregon Department of Education
255 Capitol Street, NE
Salem, 97310
(503) 947-5860
Jenni.Knaus@state.or.us
http://www.oregon.gov/ode/students-and-family/pages/united-states-senate-youth-program.aspx
back to the top >>

Pennsylvania

DEADLINE:
October 09, 2019

Mr. Jeffery D. Kusniez
USSYP Coordinator
Pennsylvania Department of Education
120 N. Monroe Street
Boyertown, 19512
(484) 332-4774
senateyouth@pasc.net
https://www.pasc.net/scholarships
back to the top >>

Rhode Island

DEADLINE:
November 01, 2019

Ms. Colleen R. Brophy
Executive Staff Assistant, Office of the Deputy Commissioner
RI Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
255 Westminster Street
Providence, 02903
(401) 222-4275
Colleen.Brophy@ride.ri.gov
http://www.ride.ri.gov/StudentsFamilies/AdditionalResources/StudentScholarships.aspx
back to the top >>

South Carolina

DEADLINE:
September 20, 2019

Mrs. Wanda A. Davis
Ombudsman and State USSYP Program Coordinator
South Carolina Department of Education
1429 Senate Street, Room 1005-C
Columbia, 29201
(803) 734-8485
wdavis@ed.sc.gov
http://www.ed.sc.gov/newsroom/scholarships/us-senate-youth-program-scholarship/
back to the top >>

South Dakota

DEADLINE:
September 20, 2019

Mr. Mark Gageby
Education Program Representative
South Dakota Department of Education
800 Governors Drive
Pierre, 57501-2294
(605) 773-3727
mark.gageby@state.sd.us
http://doe.sd.gov/scholarships/senateyouth.aspx
back to the top >>

Tennessee

DEADLINE:
October 25, 2019

Ms. Charlotte Woehler
Content Coordinator Office of Science, Mathematics, and Student Opportunities
Tennessee Department of Education
Floor 11 Andrew Johnson Towers
710 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, 37243
(615) 253-4344
Charlotte.Woehler@tn.gov
https://www.tn.gov/education/instruction/opportunities-for-students.html
back to the top >>

Texas

DEADLINE:
October 15, 2019

Ms. Cindee Tonnesen
Assistant Director, TxCHSE
Post-Secondary Preparation Programs
Texas Education Agency
1701 N. Congress Ave.
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 475-3722
USSYP@tea.texas.gov
www.tea.texas.gov/ussyp/
back to the top >>

Utah

DEADLINE:
October 18, 2019

Ms. Noralee Green
Office Specialist
Utah State Office of Education
250 E 500 S
PO Box 144200
Salt Lake City, 84114
(801) 538-7515
Noralee.green@schools.utah.gov
https://www.schools.utah.gov/curr/socialstudies
back to the top >>

Vermont

DEADLINE:
October 21, 2019

Mr. Jay Nichols
Executive Director
Vermont Principals’ Association
Two Prospect Street, Suite #3
Montpelier, 05602
(802) 229-0547
jnichols@vpaonline.org
https://vpaonline.org/student-activities/scholarships/ussyp-scholarship/
back to the top >>

Virginia

DEADLINE:
September 27, 2019

Ms. Christonya Brown
History and Social Sciences Coordinator
Virginia Department of Education
PO Box 2120
Richmond, 23219
(804) 225-2893
Christonya.Brown@doe.Virginia.gov
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/administrators/index.shtml
back to the top >>

Washington

DEADLINE:
August 31, 2019

Mx. Cris Sippel for Ms. Roz Clarke Thompson
High School Representative Council Coordinator
Association of Washington School Principals
1021 8th Ave. SE
Olympia, 98501-1500
(800) 562-6100
cris@awsp.org
https://static1.squarespace.com/static/5505d862e4b082eea4c98dcc/t/56d76bc4ab48def0679e41fa/1456958410176/Hearst+Scholarship+Description16.pdf
back to the top >>

West Virginia

DEADLINE:
October 11, 2019

Dustin Lambert, M.Ed.
Middle Schools & Social Studies 6-12
West Virginia Department of Education Office of Middle/Secondary Learning
Building 6, Room 221
1900 Kanawha Blvd. East
Charleston, 25305
(304) 558-5325
DLLambert@k12.wv.us
https://wvde.us/middle-secondary-learning/social-studies/student-programs/
back to the top >>

Wisconsin

DEADLINE:
October 14, 2019

Ms. Kristen McDaniel
Social Studies Consultant
Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
125 South Webster Street
Madison, 53707
(608) 266-2207
Kristen.McDaniel@dpi.wi.gov
https://dpi.wi.gov/social-studies/senate-youth
back to the top >>

Wyoming

DEADLINE:
October 14, 2019

Ms. Jennifer LaHiff and Mr. Bradley Barker III
Hathaway Scholarship Consultants
Wyoming Department of Education
122 W. 25th Street, Ste. 200
Cheyenne, 82002
(307) 777-6840 Jennifer LaHiff
(307) 777-6226 Bradly Barker III
Jennifer.LaHiff@wyo.gov
Bradley.barker@wyo.gov
http://edu.wyoming.gov/beyond-the-classroom/senate-youth-program/
back to the top >>