State Selection Contacts

Please note: The state estimated deadline date is shown in brackets. However, the deadline in each state may be confirmed through the high school principal or the state selection contact.

ALABAMA [September 23, 2016]

Dr. Carolyn E. Townsend
Awards, Grant and Scholarship Administrator
Alabama Department of Education
50 N. Ripley Street
Montgomery, 36104
(334) 353-5440
ctownsend@alsde.edu 
www.alsde.edu
back to the top >>

ALASKA [November 4, 2016]

Bjorn Wolter, PH.D
Program Manager
Alaska Department of Education & Early Development
PO Box 110500
Juneau, 99811-0500
(907) 465-6542
bjorn.wolter@alaska.gov
www.education.alaska.gov/RecognitionPrograms/
back to the top >>

ARIZONA [October 14, 2016]

Mrs. Alexis Susdorf
Program Manager
Arizona Department of Education
1535 W. Jefferson Street, Bin #2
Phoenix, 85007
(602) 542-3309
salexis.susdorf@azed.gov
www.azed.gov/oci/ussyp/
back to the top >>

ARKANSAS [October 7, 2016]

Ms. Maggie A. Herrick
Program Advisor, Social Studies
Arkansas Department of Education
Four State Capitol Mall, Room 202-B
Little Rock, 72201
(501) 682-6584
Margaret.Herrick@arkansas.gov
http://www.arkansased.gov/divisions/learning-services/curriculum-and-instruction/social-studies/united-states-senate-youth-program
back to the top >>

CALIFORNIA [October 1, 2016]

Ms. Dina Fong
Communications Manager/USSYP Coordinator
California Department of Education
1430 N Street, Suite 5602
Sacramento, 95814
(916) 319-0551
dfong@cde.ca.gov
http://www.cde.ca.gov/eo/in/us/index.asp
back to the top >>

COLORADO [October 21, 2016]

Ms. Lynn Bamberry
Director, Competitive Grants and Awards
Colorado Department of Education
1560 Broadway, Suite 1100
Denver, 80202
(303) 866-6813
bamberry_l@cde.state.co.us 
www.cde.state.co.us/cdeawards/senateyouth.htm 
back to the top >>

CONNECTICUT [September 16, 2016]

Mr. Stephen Armstrong
Education Consultant, Bureau of Teaching and Learning
Connecticut State Department of Education
State Office Building
165 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, 06106
(860) 713-6706
stephen.armstrong@ct.gov
www.sde.ct.gov/sde/cwp/view.asp?a=2618&q=320898
back to the top >>

DELAWARE [October 14, 2016]

Mr. Preston Shockley
Education Associate, Social Studies
Delaware Department of Education
401 Federal Street, Suite 2
Dover, 19901
(302) 735-4180
preston.shockley@doe.k12.de.us
http://www.doe.k12.de.us/Page/3052
back to the top >>

DEPT. OF DEFENSE [October 21, 2016]

Ms. Jenaya Parris
Instructional System Specialist
Social Studies PK-5
Department of Defense Education Activity
4800 Mark Center Drive, 6th Floor
Alexandria, 22350
(571) 372-1883
Jenaya.Parris@hq.dodea.edu
www.dodea.edu
back to the top >>

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA [October 28, 2016]

Ms. Tiffany DeJesus
Program Manager
District of Columbia Public Schools
810 First St NE, 3rd Floor
Washington, 20002
(202) 741-6415
tiffany.dejesus@dc.gov
http://osse.dc.gov/service/united-states-senate-youth-program-ussyp
back to the top >>

FLORIDA [October 18, 2016]

Ms. Annette B. Pitts
Executive Director
Florida Law Related Education Association
PO Box 13674
Tallahassee, 32317
(850) 322-8223
Staff@flrea.org
www.flrea.org
back to the top >>

GEORGIA [October 3, 2016]

Ms. Keisha N. Ford-Jenrette
Program Manager
Georgia Department of Education
2070 Twin Towers East
Atlanta, 30334
(404) 657-2949
kford@gadoe.org
http://www.gadoe.org/External-Affairs-and-Policy/Excellence-Recognition/Pages/U.S.-Senate-Youth-Program.aspx
back to the top >>

HAWAII [October 7, 2016]

Ms. Tiffany Frias
Educational Specialist, Student Activities
Hawaii Department of Education
475 22nd Avenue, Room 214
Honolulu, 96816
(808) 305-9774
Tiffany_Frias/SUPT/HIDOE@notes.k12.hi.us
https://hssc808.wordpress.com/?s=USSYP
back to the top >>

IDAHO [October 21, 2016]

Mr. Peter G. Kavouras
Social Studies Coordinator
Idaho Department of Education
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, 83720-0027
(208) 332-6800
pgkavouras@sde.idaho.gov
www.sde.idaho.gov
back to the top >>

ILLINOIS [October 5, 2016]

Ms. Sally E. Veach
Principal Consultant
Illinois State Board of Education
100 North First Street, N-253
Springfield, 62777-0001
(217) 782-5589
sveach@isbe.net
http://www.isbe.net/spec-ed/html/hearst.htm
back to the top >>

INDIANA [September 30, 2016]

Mr. Collin K. Gruver, J.D.
Director of Civil Education Programs
615 N. Alabama, Suite 122
Indianapolis, 46204
(317) 608-6503
cgruver@inbf.org
http://inbf.org/educational-programs/united-states-senate-youth-program
back to the top >>

IOWA [October 3, 2016]

Ms. Stefanie Rosenberg-Wager
Social Studies Consultant
Iowa Department of Education
Grimes State Office Building
400 SE 14th Street
Des Moines, 50319
(515) 725-7842
stefanie.wager@iowa.gov
https://www.educateiowa.gov/pk-12/advanced-learning-opportunities/us-senate-youth-program/a>
back to the top >>

KANSAS [October 10, 2016]

Ms. Tammy Miller
Administrative Specialist
Kansas State Department of Education
Landon State Office Building
900 SW Jackson St., Suite 102
Topeka, 66612-1212
(785) 296-4950
tmiller@ksde.org
www.ksde.org/Agency/FiscalandAdministrativeServices/
CommunicationsandRecognitionPrograms/SenateYouth.aspx

back to the top >>

KENTUCKY [October 31, 2016]

Ms. Donna Melton
Program Consultant
Kentucky Department of Education
8th Floor, CPT, Room 827
Frankfort, 40601
(502) 564-1473 Ext. 4061
donna.melton@education.ky.gov
www.kentuckyschools.org
back to the top >>

LOUISIANA [October 07, 2016]

Ms. Marian E. Johnson
Education Program Consultant
Louisiana Department of Education
P. O. Box 94064 Room 4-270
Baton Rouge, 70804
(225) 219-7372
Marian.johnson@la.gov
http://www.louisianabelieves.com/teaching/award-programs
back to the top >>

MAINE [October 17, 2016]

Ms. Rachelle Tome
Chief Academic Officer
Maine Department of Education
23 State House Station
Augusta, 04333-0023
(207) 624-6708
Rachelle.Tome@maine.gov
http://www.maine.gov/doe/socialstudies/senateyouthprogram/index.html/
back to the top >>

MARYLAND [September 23, 2016]

Ms. Vanessa Diggs
State Selection Contact
Maryland State Department of Education
200 W. Baltimore Street, 4th Floor, DOSFSS
Baltimore, 21201
(410) 767-0358
Vanessa.Diggs@maryland.gov
www.marylandpublicschools.org/MSDE/divisions/
studentschoolsvcs/youth_development/USSYPScholarshipInformation.html

back to the top >>

MASSACHUSETTS [October 3, 2016]

Ms. Donna Taylor
Program Coordinator
Massachusetts Department of Education
75 Pleasant St.
Malden, 02148
(781) 338-6320
dtaylor@doe.mass.edu
http://www.doe.mass.edu/ssce/senate/
back to the top >>

MICHIGAN [October 28, 2016]

Dr. Gordon P. Andrews
Associate Professor of History
Grand Valley State University
Michigan Department of Education
1 Campus Drive
Allendale, MI 49401
616-331-3040
Andrewgo@gvsu.edu
www.michigan.gov/socialstudies
back to the top >>

MINNESOTA [October 28, 2016]

Mr. Ken Kaffine
Communications Specialist
Minnesota Department of Education
1500 Highway 36 West
Roseville, 55113
(651) 582-8570
Ken.Kaffine@state.mn.us
http://education.state.mn.us
back to the top >>

MISSISSIPPI [September 21, 2016]

Dr. Vernesia Wilson
Director, Office of the Teacher Center
Mississippi Department of Education
P.O. Box 771
Jackson, 39205
(601) 359-2153
VWilson@mdek12.org
www.mde.k12.ms.us/OTC/USSYP?
back to the top >>

MISSOURI [September 21, 2016]

Ms. Dixie Groupe
Social Studies Director
MO Department of Elementary & Secondary Education
P.O. Box 480
Jefferson City, 65102-0480
(573) 751-0398
Dixie.Grupe@dese.mo.gov
http://dese.mo.gov/college-career-readiness/curriculum/social-studies/social-studies-related-links/senate-youth-program
back to the top >>

MONTANA [November 9, 2016]

Ms. Tobie Liedes
Program Coordinator
Montana Office of Public Instruction
PO Box 202501
Helena, 59620-2501
(406) 444-2417
TLiedes2@mt.gov
http://opi.mt.gov/Programs/SchoolPrograms/index.html?gpm=1_10
back to the top >>

NEBRASKA [October 6, 2016]

Mr. Harris Payne
Social Studies Specialist
Nebraska Department of Education
301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, 68509-4987
(402) 471-2449
harris.payne@nebraska.gov
http://www.education.ne.gov/ss/USSYP.html
back to the top >>

NEVADA [October 14, 2016]

Ms. Sylvia Verdugo
Assistant to the Deputy Superintendent for Student Achievement
Nevada Department of Education
700 E. Fifth Street, Ste. 100
Carson City, 89701
(775) 687-9224
sverdugo@doe.nv.gov
http://www.doe.nv.gov/Topic/U_S__Senate_Youth_Program/
back to the top >>

NEW HAMPSHIRE [October 14, 2016]

Ms. Lori J. Kincaid
Public Information Officer
New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street
Concord, 03301
(603) 271-6646
Lori.kincaid@doe.nh.gov
http://www.education.nh.gov/recognition/us_senate.htm
back to the top >>

NEW JERSEY [October 7, 2016]

Ms. Beverly R. Plein
Social Studies Coordinator
New Jersey Department of Education
PO Box 500
Trenton, 08625-0500
(609) 943-5732
beverly.plein@doe.state.nj.us
www.state.nj.us/education/aps/cccs/ss/syp/
back to the top >>

NEW MEXICO [October 10, 2016]

Ms. Julie Arnold
Awards Coordinator of the NMASSP
Mountain View Middle School
4101 Montreal LP.
Rio Rancho, NM 87124
(505) 867-0711, ext. 304
julie.arnold@rrps.net
http://www.nmassp.org/id14.html
back to the top >>

NEW YORK [October 4, 2016]

Dr. Elisabeth Egetemeyr
Program Research Specialist
New York State Education Department
89 Washington Avenue, Room 860 EBA
Albany, 12234
(518) 474-5922
elisabeth.egetemeyr@nysed.gov
http://www.p12.nysed.gov/ciai/socst/senateyouth.html 
back to the top >>

NORTH CAROLINA [October 2, 2016]

Ms. Michelle McLaughlin
High School Social Studies Consultant, Secondary Division
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
K-12 Social Studies
6345 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, 27699
(919) 807-3924
michelle.mclaughlin@dpi.nc.gov
http://senateyouthnc.webs.com/
back to the top >>

NORTH DAKOTA [October 14, 2016]

Ms. Patricia A. Laubach
Program Administrator
North Dakota Department of Public Instruction
Department 201
600 E. Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, 58505-0440
(701) 328-4525
plaubach@nd.gov 
www.dpi.state.nd.us
back to the top >>

OHIO [August 30, 2016]

Mr. Dwight Groce
Social Studies Consultant
Ohio Department of Education
25 S. Front Street – Mail Stop 509
Columbus, 43215
(614) 387-3200
Dwight.Groce@education.ohio.gov
http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Other-Resources/Scholarships/US-Senate-Youth-Program
back to the top >>

OKLAHOMA [September 10, 2016]

Dr. Brenda M. Beymer-Chapman
Director of Social Studies and Personal Financial Literacy
Oklahoma Department of Education
2500 North Lincoln Blvd.
Oklahoma City, 73105
(405) 522-3523
Brenda.Chapman@sde.ok.gov
http://sde.ok.gov/sde/social-studies
back to the top >>

OREGON [October 21, 2016]

Ms. Jenni Knaus
Program Manager
Oregon Department of Education
255 Capitol Street, NE
Salem, 97310
(503) 947-5860
Jenni.Knaus@state.or.us
www.ode.state.or.us/search/page/?id=1496
back to the top >>

PENNSYLVANIA [October 12, 2016]

Mr. Jeff Kusniez
USSYP Coordinator
Pennsylvania Association of Student Councils
Boyertown High School
120 N. Monroe Street
Boyertown, 19512
(484) 332-4774
jkusniez@boyertownasd.org
http://www.pasc.net/student-scholarships.html
back to the top >>

RHODE ISLAND [October 1, 2016]

Ms. Colleen R. Brophy
Executive Staff Assistant, Office of the Deputy Commissioner
RI Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
255 Westminster Street
Providence, 02903
(401) 222-4275
Colleen.Brophy@ride.ri.gov
www.ride.ri.gov
back to the top >>

SOUTH CAROLINA [September 26, 2016]

Mrs. Wanda Davis
Program Coordinator, USSYP
South Carolina Department of Education
1429 Senate Street, Room 1005-C
Columbia, 29201
(803) 734-8485
wdavis@ed.sc.gov
http://www.ed.sc.gov/newsroom/scholarships/us-senate-youth-program-scholarship/
back to the top >>

SOUTH DAKOTA [September 23, 2016]

Mr. Mark Gageby
Education Program Representative
South Dakota Department of Education
800 Governors Drive
Pierre, 57501-2294
(605) 773-3727
mark.gageby@state.sd.us
http://doe.sd.gov/secretary/senateyouth.aspx
back to the top >>

TENNESSEE [October 28, 2016]

Ms. Charlotte Woehler
Curriculum and Instruction
Tennessee Department of Education
11th Floor, Andrew Johnson Tower
710 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, 37243
(615) 253-4344
charlotte.woehler@tn.gov
https://www.tn.gov/education/topic/opportunities-for-students
back to the top >>

TEXAS [October 15, 2016]

Kelly M. Ocasio, Ph.D.
GEAR UP Texas State Grant Program Director
College/Career Readiness Initiatives
Federal and State Education Policy
Texas Education Agency
1701 N. Congress Ave.
Austin, Texas  78701
(512) 936-0356
kelly.ocasio@tea.texas.gov
http://www.tassp.org/student-awards
back to the top >>

UTAH [October 21, 2016]

Ms. Kristi Bostic
Office Specialist
Utah State Office of Education
250 E 500 S
PO Box 144200
Salt Lake City, 84114
(801) 538-7788
Kristi.Bostic@schools.utah.gov
http://www.schools.utah.gov/CURR/socialstudies/USSYP.aspx
back to the top >>

VERMONT [October 7, 2016]

Ms. Mallori LaPointe
Communication and Events Assistant
Vermont Principals’ Association
Two Prospect Street, Suite #3
Montpelier, 05602
(802) 229-0547
mlapointe@vpaonline.org
http://www.vpaonline.org/Page/138
back to the top >>

VIRGINIA [September 30, 2016]

Ms. Christonya Brown
History and Social Sciences Specialist
Virginia Department of Education
101 N. 14th Street
Richmond, 23219
(804) 225-2893
Christonya.Brown@doe.Virginia.gov
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/administrators/superintendents_memos/2016/199-16.shtml
back to the top >>

WASHINGTON [August 30, 2016]

Ms. Beth Schultz for Mr. Scott Seaman
High School Representative Council Coordinator
Association of Washington School Principals
1021 8th Ave. SE
Olympia, 98501-1500
(800) 562-6100
Beth@awsp.org
http://awsleaders.org/hearst-scholarship/
back to the top >>

WEST VIRGINIA [September 16, 2016]

Ms. Allegra Kazemzadeh
Social Studies Coordinator
West Virginia Department of Education
1900 Kanawha Blvd. East
Room 603
Charleston, 25305
(304) 558-2546 Ext. 53040
akazemzadeh@k12.wv.us
http://wvde.state.wv.us/socialstudies/senate-youth.html
back to the top >>

WISCONSIN [October 17, 2016]

Ms. Kristen McDaniel
Social Studies Consultant
Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
PO Box 7841
Madison, 53707
(608) 266-2207
Kristen.McDaniel@dpi.wi.gov
https://bit.ly/WI-USSYP
back to the top >>

WYOMING [September 28, 2016]

Mr. Bruce Hayes
Accreditation Consultant
Wyoming Department of Education
2300 Capitol Avenue
2nd Floor
Cheyenne, 82002-0050
(307) 777-6198
bruce.hayes@wyo.gov
http://edu.wyoming.gov/beyond-the-classroom/senate-youth-program/
back to the top >>