

1962-2022 60th ANNIVERSARY

UNITED STATES SENATE ★ YOUTH PRO GRAM ★

EDUCATION • LEADERSHIP • PUBLIC SERVICE

WASHINGTON WEEK ONLINE AGENDA MARCH 6-9, 2022

_ *

SUNDAY, MARCH 6 Note: All times listed in Eastern Standard Time

- 11:00 AM Student Orientation Session (closed session)
 Welcome: Rayne Guilford, USSYP Program Director
 Remarks: President Amanda Patarino (USSYP CO 2012)
 U.S. Senate Youth Program Alumni Association
 USSYP DELEGATE ROLL CALL OF THE STATES
 Student Video Tour of the Nation
- 2:00 PM Virtual Tour Livestream Begins GEORGE WASHINGTON'S MOUNT VERNON
- 4:30 PM Formal Welcome Session **THE U.S. ARMY FIELD BAND** The National Anthem **Welcome:** Paul "Dino" Dinovitz, Executive Director The Hearst Foundations
 - MILITARY MENTOR ROLL CALL OF THE SERVICES Formal introduction of the 2022 USSYP Military Mentor Team
- 5:30 PM **Speaker: CORY GARDNER** (USSYP CO 1993) Former U.S. Senator of Colorado
- 6:30 PM Delegate De-briefing with Military Mentors

MONDAY, MARCH 7

- 10:30 AM Individual Military Mentor Group Morning Huddle
- 11:00 AM **Speaker: ROBERT H. HENRY** (USSYP OK 1971) Former Chief Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit,
- 12:30 PM Speaker: DR. BETTY KOED Senate Historian
- 2:30 PM Virtual Tour: INSIDE HISTORY OF THE SUPREME COURT
- 3:00 PM Speaker: ANTHONY M. KENNEDY Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the United States
- 4:30 PM Evening Session U.S. ARMY JAZZ AMBASSADORS America the Beautiful Speaker: COLONEL JIM R. KEENE Commander, U.S. Army Field Band
- 5:00 PM Speaker: VANITA GUPTA U.S. Associate Attorney General
- 6:30 PM Co-Chair Speaker: SENATOR SUSAN M. COLLINS of Maine (USSYP – ME 1971) Republican Co-Chair of the 60th Annual United States Senate Youth Program

TUESDAY, MARCH 8

10:30 AM	Individual Military Mentor Group Morning Huddle
11:00 AM	Speaker: AMBASSADOR CARMEN RAMERO NATO Deputy Assistant Secretary General for Public Diplomacy
12:15 PM	Co-Chair Speaker: SENATOR CHRISTOPHER A. COONS of Delaware Democratic Co-Chair of the 60th Annual United States Senate Youth Program
2:00 PM	State Department Visit Speaker: AMBASSADOR LINDA THOMAS-GREENFIELD U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations
3:30 PM	Virtual Tour: HISTORY OF DIPLOMACY
	INTERACTIVE DIPLOMACY SIMULATION
	The Suez Canal Crisis
	National Museum of American Diplomacy
6:00 PM	Delegate De-briefing with Military Mentors

- 10:30 AM Individual Military Mentor Group Morning Huddle 11:00 AM **Speaker: JESSICA ROSENWORCEL** Chairwoman, Federal Communications Commission
- 12:40 PM Virtual Tour, Speakers and Q & A: ARLINGTON NATIONAL CEMETERY
- The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier2:00 PMPentagon Visit
- Speaker: GENERAL MARK A. MILLEY Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff
- 3:00 PM Speaker: MAJOR GENERAL DAVID T. ISAACSON, USA Chief of Staff, USCYBERCOM
- 4:15 PM White House Visit
- 4:30 PM **Speaker:** ALI ZAIDI (USSYP PA 2003) Deputy White House National Climate Advisor
- 5:00 PM Behind the Scenes at the White House Speaker: MICHAEL KIKUKAWA (USSYP – HI 2013) White House Press Office
- 6:45 PM Closing Session U.S. AIRMEN OF NOTE The Joint Armed Services Medley
- 7:00 PM Speaker: PETE BUTTIGIEG (USSYP IN 2000) U.S. Secretary of Transportation
- 7:45 PM **Closing Remarks:** Mr. George Irish, Eastern Director The Hearst Foundations

7:30 PM Delegate De-briefing with Military Mentors

UNITED STATES SENATE * RESOLUTION 324 *

In 1962, Senate Resolution 324, submitted by Senator KUCHEL (for himself and Senators MANSFIELD, DIRKSEN, and HUMPHREY), was referred to the Committee on Rules and Administration, and, subsequently, unanimously approved by the United State Senate as follows:

WHEREAS the continued vitality of our Republic depends, in part, on the intelligent understanding of our political processes and the functions of our National Government by the citizens of the United States; and

WHEREAS the durability of a constitutional democracy is dependent upon alert, talented, vigorous competition for political leadership; and

WHEREAS individual Senators have cooperated with various private and university undergraduate and graduate fellowship and internship programs relating to the work of Congress; and

WHEREAS in the high schools of the United States, there exists among students who have been elected to student body offices in their junior or senior year a potential reservoir of young citizens who are experiencing their first responsibilities of service to a constituency and who should be encouraged to deepen their interest in and understanding of their country's political process: Now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate hereby expresses its willingness to cooperate in a nationwide competitive high school Senate youth program which would give several representative high school students from each State a short indoctrination into the operation of the United States Senate and the Federal Government generally, if such a program can be satisfactorily arranged and completely supported by private funds with no expense to the Federal Government.

RESOLUTION 146. To amend S. Res. 324 of the Eighty-seventh Congress to provide for the participation of the Department of Defense education system for dependents in overseas areas in the Senate Youth Program.

Resolved, That S. Res. 324, Eighty-seventh Congress, agreed to May 17, 1963, is amended by adding at the end thereof the following new section:

Section 3. For the purpose of this resolution, the term "State" includes the Department of Defense education system for dependents in overseas areas.



1962-2022 60th ANNIVERSARY

UNITED STATES SENATE ★ YOUTH PRO GRAM ★

EDUCATION • LEADERSHIP • PUBLIC SERVICE

*

2022 SENATE ADVISORY COMMITTEE HONORARY CO-CHAIRS

Vice President Kamala D. Harris

Senator Charles E. Schumer Senator Mitch McConnell Majority Leader Republican Leader

SENATE CO-CHAIRS

Christopher A. Coons of Delaware Susan M. Collins of Maine

SENATE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Ben Ray Luján of New Mexico Jeffrey A. Merkley of Oregon Tina Smith of Minnesota Mark R. Warner

Iark R. Warner of Virginia Mike Braun of Indiana

Shelley Moore Capito of West Virginia

> James M. Inhofe of Oklahoma

M. Michael Rounds of South Dakota

*

FOUNDATION DIRECTORS

William Randolph Hearst III President

James M. Asher Anissa B. Balson David J. Barrett Frank A. Bennack, Jr. John G. Conomikes Lisa H. Hagerman George R. Hearst III Gilbert C. Mauer Mark F. Miller Virginia H. Randt Mitchell I. Scherzer Steven R. Swartz

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Paul "Dino" Dinovitz

EASTERN DIRECTOR George B. Irish

PROGRAM DIRECTOR Rayne B. Guilford